Slavonic Dance No.8

Classical, Folk
A boisterous romp through Dvorák’s 8th Slavonic Dance.
Dvorák, A
S/Sn . S/A . AA . A/T . A/T . T/B . B/Bs
5 minutes



Originally written for piano four hands, Dvorák’s “Slavonic Dances” were inspired by Brahm’s own “Hungarian Dances” and were orchestrated at the request of Dvorák’s publisher soon after composition. The pieces, lively and overtly nationalistic, were well received at the time and today are among the composer’s most memorable works.

Although written with an SSAATTBB line-up in mind, this arrangement comes with lots of alternative parts to allow various combinations of saxophones.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following:

Standard parts
Soprano Saxophone 1 (alternative to Sopranino Saxophone)
Soprano Saxophone 2 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 3)
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2
Tenor Saxophone 1 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 4)
Tenor Saxophone 2 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 5)
Baritone Saxophone 1 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 3)
Baritone Saxophone 2 (alternative to Bass Saxophone)

Alternative parts
Sopranino Saxophone (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 1)
Alto Saxophone 3 (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 2)
Alto Saxophone 4 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 1)
Alto Saxophone 5 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 2)
Tenor Saxophone 3 (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 1)
Bass Saxophone (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 2)

“Slavonic Dance No.8” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Slavonic Dance No.8”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…