Selections from the Nutcracker Suite

Bring out your inner Sugar Plum Fairy in this inspired arrangement!
Tchaikovsky, P.I.
SSAATTBB (+opt. Spr, Sn, A3, T3, Bs, Perc.)
7 minutes



“The Nutcracker” premiered, in its full ballet form, in 1892 in St Petersburg; a set of miniatures to which Tchaikovsky provided the score. Though the ballet was a flop originally, the music – delightfully witty, light, and adventurous – gained huge popularity as a suite in its own right. It was only later that the ballet performances gained popularity, on the back of Tchaikovsky’s memorable and enchanting music. Here a selection of the most well-known of those miniatures, in the sort of form that initially gained the music its popularity, is put into the hands of a saxophone ensemble, who have the opportunity for glistening nimbleness and furiously rompish fun. Tchaikovsky’s taste for orchestral colour can also be serviced with a range of extra parts for those more “colourful” saxophones at the higher and lower ends!

Although written with an SSAATTBB line-up in mind, this arrangement comes with optional Soprillo, Sopranino, Alto 3, Tenor 3 and Bass saxophone parts. There is also an optional percussion part for Tambourine and Glockenspiel included.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following parts:

Standard parts
Soprano Saxophone 1
Soprano Saxophone 2
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2
Tenor Saxophone 1
Tenor Saxophone 2
Baritone Saxophone 1
Baritone Saxophone 2

Optional parts
Soprillo Saxophone
Sopranino Saxophone
Alto Saxophone 3
Tenor Saxophone 3
Bass Saxophone
Percussion (Tambourine & Glockenspiel)

“Selections from the Nutcracker Suite” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music. 


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Selections from the Nutcracker Suite”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…