Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring

One of Bach’s most popular melodies.
Bach, J.S.
(Eb) 6x Bb . acl . bcl (Bb cb)
4 minutes
3, 4



Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring is the most common English title of the 10th and last movement of the cantata “Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben”, BWV 147 (“Heart and Mouth and Deed and Life”), composed by Johann Sebastian Bach in 1716 and 1723.

It is often performed slowly and reverently at wedding ceremonies, as well as during Christian festive seasons like Christmas and Easter, despite the affect suggested by Bach in his original scoring, for voices with trumpet, oboes, strings, and continuo.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following parts:

Standard parts
Clarinet in Bb 1
Clarinet in Bb 2
Clarinet in Bb 3
Clarinet in Bb 4
Clarinet in Bb 5
Clarinet in Bb 6
Alto Clarinet in Eb
Bass Clarinet in Bb

Optional parts
Clarinet in Eb (optional)
Contrabass Clarinet in Bb (optional)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…