Concerto (Double Violin)

Arrangement for two soprano saxophones of the concerto for two violins, or double concerto.
Bach, J.S.
2 solo sops SATB (opt. keys)
15 minutes
7, 8



A large portion of Bach’s orchestral music is today considered to have been lost for ever. Fortunately the concerto for two violins, or double concerto, has survived – though only just. It was found among the papers of his son CPE Bach along with the A minor violin concerto and first published in 1874, over a century after the composer’s death.

Bach was amazingly prolific, but even he had to recycle ideas sometimes. There is also an arrangement by Bach himself of this work for two keyboards and strings, perhaps reflecting a Saturday when he was just a little too busy to make the composing deadline for his weekly music concert with a genuinely new work.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following parts:

Standard parts
Solo Soprano Saxophone 1
Solo Soprano Saxophone 2
Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone

Optional parts
Harpsichord (or Piano)

“Concerto” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Concerto (Double Violin)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • £19.99
  • £18.99