Baroque, Classical
A hauntingly beautiful piece for 8 voices.
Lotti, A
S/Sno/A . S/A . A .A/T . A/T . T . T/B . B/Bs
3 minutes
2, 3



Antonio Lotti (ca. 1667 – 5 January 1740) was an Italian composer, and this is perhaps his most famous composition – the 8-voice “Crucifixus”. The composer aimed to break the rules of conventional harmony (unprepared dissonances, tritones and the like) and to this end it could be called the first “atonal” piece of music.

Although written with an SSAATTBB line-up in mind, this arrangement comes with many alternative parts to allow for great flexibility in line-up.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following:

Standard parts
Soprano Saxophone 1 (alternative to Sopranino Saxophone & Alto Saxophone 3)
Soprano Saxophone 2 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 4)
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 3)
Tenor Saxophone 1 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 5)
Tenor Saxophone 2
Baritone Saxophone 1 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 4)
Baritone Saxophone 2 (alternative to Bass Saxophone)

Alternative parts
Sopranino Saxophone (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 1 & Alto Saxophone 3)
Alto Saxophone 3 (alternative to Sopranino Saxophone & Soprano Saxophone 1)
Alto Saxophone 4 (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 2)
Alto Saxophone 5 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 1)
Tenor Saxophone 3 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 2)
Tenor Saxophone 4 (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 1)
Bass Saxophone (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 2)

“Crucifixus” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Crucifixus”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…