Clarinet Sextet

Classical, Contemporary, World/Ethnic
Joyful lyricism and overflowing energy…
Krivokapič, Igor
Clarinet Ensemble
6 minutes
8, 9



Mihael Kozjek (Slovenian musicologist) said about Clarinet Sextet: “Clarinet Sextet” was composed in 2006. It is an extremely concise, artfully structured musical work in four contrasting movements, marked in some places by joyful lyricism and in others by overflowing energy, with these qualities always being embedded in the crystal clear architecture of the composition. The first movement, composed of two parts, is the longest. The brief slow introduction is characterized by melodious theme from which the composer weaves the entire introduction. This then suddenly turns to the energetic central part of the movement, marked by a temperamental dance with a Latin-American flavor, after which the musical flow settles into a lyrical conclusion. The second movement is a fast, motoric toccata with the character of an etude, somewhat reminiscent of the neoclassical language of Igor Stravinsky. Despite its binary meter, we feel the pulse of a traditional scherzo. Although the melodic material, derived from the opening theme, is more or less the same, the harmonic plan is quite diverse, providing ample freshness and variety. The beginning of the third movement is marked by rich harmonies, forming pitch clusters with melancholy character. The music gives rise to a deep expressivity, while the mirror development of the harmonic formations is of particular interest. The composer builds these formations from the lower to the higher registers at the beginning of the movement. A more melodically inspired central section follows, while the concluding part of the movement is constructed from pitch material that moves from the upper registers to the lower, concluding with an optimistic, major chord. The faster pace gives the last movement an effortless zest and a fluid texture, from which the virtuosity and playfulness of the clarinets bubble forth.”

“Clarinet Sextet” is comprised of four movements:

  1. Cantilena
  2. Cascade
  3. Piramide
  4. Finale

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following parts:

Standard parts
Clarinet in Eb
Clarinet in Bb 1
Clarinet in Bb 2
Basset Horn (alternative to Alto Clarinet in Eb)
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Contrabass Clarinet in Bb

Alternative parts
Alto Clarinet in Eb (alternative to Basset Horn)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Clarinet Sextet”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • £34.99
  • £24.99