Toccata & Fugue in D minor

Baroque grandeur on saxes.
Bach, J.S.
7 minutes



From the arranger: In 2000 “Das Ensemble der Musikschule Lugde” commissioned a saxophone sextet arrangement of J.S. Bach’s “Toccata and Fugue” to celebrate the 250th anniversary of his death. My response to this challenge was that of excitement because his music is a constant source of inspiration – not only for arrangements but also for original compositions, such as “Bach and Beyond”. The concept of playing Baroque music on saxophones is incongruous to some, but I find the sonorities of six saxophones remarkably organ-like. It received its UK premier by Trinity Saxes at the 6th British Saxophone Congress in November 2000.  In 2011 I completed this adapted quartet version from the sextet arrangement, however it is not the same and therefore the parts are not interchangeable. The Toccata can be performed separately and is approximately 2 minutes 30 seconds in length. The Fugue is approximately 4 minutes 30 seconds.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following:

Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone

“Toccata & Fugue in D minor” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Toccata & Fugue in D minor”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • £1.99£18.99