CD – Safer Sax

Recorded in 1993, featuring many of our most popular quartets and quintets.
55 minutes


12 in stock


Saxtet emerged from Birmingham’s diverse music scene as one of the most innovative saxophone ensembles in Britain.  Safer Sax is a collection of new compositions written specifically for Saxtet.  The unique sound of five saxophones makes the sparks fly and the spine tingle.

Safer Sax features Nigel Wood on soprano and keyboards, Chris Gumbley on alto, Karen Street on tenor and alto sax, Adrian Kelley on tenor and Andrew Tweed on bari.

Safer Sax was recorded at The Adrian Boult Hall with kind permission of The Birmingham Conservatoire.

Track listing

  • Schwarzer Tänzer – Nigel Wood
  • P R Girl – Andrew Tweed
  • All Because of You – Karen Street
  • Perugia – Anthony Kerr
  • Pressed and Dried – Nigel Wood
  • Rotunda – Nigel Wood
  • Dreams – Chuganov
  • Pacific Nights – Lionel Ferer
  • Dreams of You – Dave McGarry
  • Torsche – Al Gurr
  • Squiffy’s Song – Nigel Wood
  • Safer Sax – Nigel Wood
  • Round Midnight – Monk arr. Westbrooke



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “CD – Safer Sax”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • £1.99£19.99
  • £1.99£19.99
  • £1.99£15.99
  • £1.99£18.99