Contemporary, Jazz
An original work for seven saxophones and drum with relentless driving rhythms and a hint of menace.
Rickards, Craig
S/Sno . A . A/S . A/T . T . T/B . B/Bs . Drum
4 minutes



From the composer: Although jousting was essentially a carnival event there must have been a significant degree of danger.  As portrayed in the 1970’s TV series ‘Ivanhoe’ there was a high level of tension and menace, so I have tried to create a piece that is exciting, but without too much jolliness.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following parts:

Standard parts
Soprano Saxophone 1 (alternative to Sopranino Saxophone)
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2 (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 2)
Alto Saxophone 3 (alternative to Tenor Saxophone 3)
Tenor Saxophone 1
Tenor Saxophone 2 (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 2)
Baritone Saxophone 1 (alternative to Bass Saxophone)

Alternative parts
Sopranino Saxophone (alternative to Soprano Saxophone 1)
Soprano Saxophone 2 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 2)
Tenor Saxophone 3 (alternative to Alto Saxophone 3)
Tenor Saxophone 2 (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 2)
Bass Saxophone (alternative to Baritone Saxophone 1)

“Joust” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Joust”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • £19.99
  • £24.99
  • £23.99