Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring

One of Bach’s most popular melodies.
Bach, J.S.
S/A . AAATTB (+opt. Bs)
4 minutes
3, 4



Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring is the most common English title of the 10th and last movement of the cantata “Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben”, BWV 147 (“Heart and Mouth and Deed and Life”), composed by Johann Sebastian Bach in 1716 and 1723.

It is often performed slowly and reverently at wedding ceremonies, as well as during Christian festive seasons like Christmas and Easter, despite the affect suggested by Bach in his original scoring, for voices with trumpet, oboes, strings, and continuo.

Nigel Wood, founder member of the quartet “Saxtet” has created this version from his 1990’s quartet arrangement (also available through Saxtet Publications) which was a staple part of the group’s busking catalogue.

The E-Edition PDF bundle comes with the following:

Standard parts
Soprano Saxophone (alternative to Alto Saxophone 1)
Alto Saxophone 2
Alto Saxophone 3
Tenor Saxophone 1
Tenor Saxophone 2
Baritone Saxophone 1

Alternative parts
Alto Saxophone 1 (alternative to Soprano Saxophone)
Bass Saxophone (optional)

“Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring” is also available in hard-copy from June Emerson Wind Music.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…