Saxtet Publications
catalogue > clarinet ensembles > romanian dances

Romanian Dances new

clarinet choir edition

Genres: Classical, Contemporary, World/Ethnic
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Score & parts
(79 pages)

Buy now
Romanian Dances


Based on seven folk melodies, these were originally written by Bartok for the piano, but later adapted for small orchestra by the composer.

The pieces consists of six movements, and are all based on melodies Bartok himself heard in Romania, Hungary and the region of Transylvania.

The movements are as follows:

I. Bot tánc / Jocul cu bâtă (Stick Dance)
II. Brâul (Sash Dance)
III. Topogó / Pe loc (In One Spot)
IV. Bucsumí tánc / Buciumeana (Dance from Bucsum)
V. Román polka / Poarga Românească (Romanian Polka)
VI. Aprózó / Mărunțel (Fast Dance

Edition Notes

This arrangement is scored for a minimum of 10 clarinets, but comes with additional optional and alternative parts for larger clarinet ensembles.

The full instrumentations is as follows:
Clarinet in Eb
Clarinet in Bb 1
Clarinet in Bb 2
Clarinet in Bb 3
Clarinet in Bb 4
Clarinet in Bb 5
Clarinet in Bb 6
Clarinet in Bb 7 or Alto Clarinet in Eb 1
Bass Clarinet in Bb 1 or Alto Clarinet in Eb 2
Bass Clarinet in Bb 2
Contra-alto Clarinet in Eb or Contrabass Clarinet in Bb (optional)


Eb.Cl 6xCl Cl./A.Cl A.Cl/Bs.Cl Bs.Cl (C-a.Cl/Cb.Cl)


6 min

Other Editions

Romanian Dances is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US