Saxtet Publications
catalogue > sax ensembles for 6-8 players > in the hall of the mountain king

In the Hall of the Mountain King

saxophone sextet edition

Composed by: Edvard Grieg
Arranged by: Kayleigh Huelin
Genre: Classical
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(19 pages)

Buy now
In the Hall of the Mountain King


'In the Hall of the Mountain King' was originally written as incidental music for Henrik Ibsen's play 'Peer Gynt'. Edvard Grieg later included it as the final movement of his 'Peer Gynt Suite No.1'.

In the original 'Peer Gynt', this works depicts Peer Gynt entering the mountain in a dream-like fantasy, where, "There is a great crowd of troll courtiers, gnomes and goblins. Dovregubben sits on his throne, with crown and sceptre, surrounded by his children and relatives. Peer Gynt stands before him. There is a tremendous uproar in the hall."

A great opportunity for baritone players to channel their inner-troll!


s a a t t b


2 min, 45 sec

Performance Notes

Please note: This version is for six saxophones and is not compatible with the eight saxophone version catalogue no.489.

Other Editions

In the Hall of the Mountain King is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US