Saxtet Publications

Romanian Dances

saxophone ensemble edition

Composed by: Bela Bartok
Arranged by: Nigel Wood
Genres: Classical, Contemporary, World/Ethnic
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(80 pages)

Buy now
Romanian Dances


Based on seven folk melodies, these were originally written by Bartok for the piano, but later adapted for small orchestra by the composer.

The pieces consists of six movements, and are all based on melodies Bartok himself heard in Romania, Hungary and the region of Transylvania.

The movements are as follows:

I. Bot tánc / Jocul cu bâtă (Stick Dance)
II. Brâul (Sash Dance)
III. Topogó / Pe loc (In One Spot)
IV. Bucsumí tánc / Buciumeana (Dance from Bucsum)
V. Román polka / Poarga Românească (Romanian Polka)
VI. Aprózó / Mărunțel (Fast Dance


(sno) s s a a a t t t b b (Bs)


6 min

Performance Notes

This arrangement is scored for the following line-up and can therefore be played with either 10, 11 or 12 saxophonists.

Sopranino Sax (optional)
Soprano Sax 1
Soprano Sax 2
Alto Sax 1
Alto Sax 2
Alto Sax 3
Tenor Sax 1
Tenor Sax 2
Tenor Sax 3
Baritone Sax 1
Baritone Sax 2
Baritone Sax 3
Bass Sax (optional)

Other Editions

Romanian Dances is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US