Saxtet Publications
catalogue > clarinet ensembles > sleepers, awake!

Sleepers, Awake!

clarinet ensemble edition

Composed by: JS Bach
Arranged by: Tom Bruton
Genres: Baroque, Classical
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(33 pages)

Buy now
Sleepers, Awake!


Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (Awake, calls the voice to us) is possibly Johann Sebastian Bach's most famous church cantata. He composed the chorale cantata in Leipzig for the 27th Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on 25 November 1731. It is said that Bach only ever performed this cantata once in his lifetime.

This arrangement was originally written for Trinity Saxes, and then adapted for the National Youth Wind Orchestra Sax Ensemble by Tom Bruton. His arrangement has been adapted for The Bournville Clarinet Choir by it’s musical director Nigel Wood.


(EbCl) 6 Cl Cl/EbAlto Cl BsCl BsCl (CbCl)

Performance Notes

This piece is scored for the following line-up:
Eb Clarinet (optional)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Clarinet 4
Bb Clarinet 5
Bb Clarinet 6
Bb Clarinet 7 (alternative to Alto Clarinet in Eb)
Alto Clarinet in Eb (alternative to Bb Clarinet 7)
Bb Bass Clarinet 1
Bb Bass Clarinet 2
Contra Bass Clarinet in Bb (optional)

Other Editions

Sleepers, Awake! is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US