Saxtet Publications
catalogue > sax ensembles for 12+ players > selections from the nutcracker suite

Selections from the Nutcracker Suite

saxophone ensemble edition

Composed by: Petr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Arranged by: James Crockford
Genre: Classical
Ordering Options
Score and Parts
~ $50.25
Buy hard-copy
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(87 pages)
~ $42.00

Buy now
Selections from the Nutcracker Suite


'The Nutcracker' premiered, in its full ballet form, in 1892 in St Petersburg; a set of miniatures to which Tchaikovsky provided the score. Though the ballet was a flop originally, the music - delightfully witty, light, and adventurous - gained huge popularity as a suite in its own right. It was only later that the ballet performances gained popularity, on the back of Tchaikovsky's memorable and enchanting music. Here a selection of the most well-known of those miniatures, in the sort of form that initially gained the music its popularity, is put into the hands of a saxophone ensemble, who have the opportunity for glistening nimbleness and furiously rompish fun. Tchaikovsky's taste for orchestral colour can also be serviced with a range of extra parts for those more 'colourful' saxophones at the higher and lower ends!


(spr) (sno) s s a a (a) t t (t) b b (bs) (perc, tamb. & glock.)


7 min

Performance Notes

This arrangement is scored for saxophone octet (SSAATTBB), but also comes with optional Soprillo, Sopranino, Alto 3, Tenor 3 and Bass saxophone parts. There is also an optional percussion part for Tambourine and Glockenspiel included.

Other Editions

Selections from the Nutcracker Suite is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US